Lanarchy LAN Events in North London Forum

Go Back   Lanarchy LAN Events in North London Forum > Gaming > Console Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 29-05-10, 08:47 AM   #1
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default Red Dead Redemption

There seems to be quite a bit of buzz about this game. It does look kinda cool -



Has anyone else got it? Tbh, the only console game I've really bought in the last year is Madden 10, but as this doesn't currently have any plans to come to PC, I'm wondering about trying it.

Also, any opinions on Xbox vs PS3 for this? I'd probably go Xbox, as the PS3 is downstairs and the Xbox is in my room. I also think Xbox Live is generally a better system against PSN.
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-10, 09:37 AM   #2
kiwi
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Welwyn
Posts: 298
Send a message via MSN to kiwi
Default

I picked it up on release day and its a lot of fun. The single player has taken a lot from GTA but you have more games to play, characters and side stories to interact with as well as the main story line. The multiplayer is based around levelling (what isnt these days?) and you can join gangs with friends and team up. You get some nice features like being able to draw against each other western style, and during the single player game too.

Its certainly worth a go. I am not sure how much longivity the multiplayer has though.

Mines the 360 copy.
__________________


kiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-05-10, 07:12 PM   #3
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

I've been and got it for Xbox 360. With a very old game and some points I didn't know I had it was less than 30...

It's very nicely put together, looks very nice but already I'm thinking the pace is rather slow. There's lots of dialog and such, quite a bit of riding about and I just can't help but think no game needing you to aim and shoot should be controlled with a gamepad.

I'll give it a few more hours, cause I want to like it, but this will likely be on eBay before the week's out.
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-10, 06:20 AM   #4
Vikingmenacethe2nd
Corporal
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 183
Default

I got the PS3 version. I just have to point my toon in the general direction of the mob, then hit the draw weapon/aim button and it choose a target automatically.

Quite fun to blow a guy off his horse with one blast of my sawed off shotgun
__________________
Good Ol' Vike.


Vikingmenacethe2nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-10, 08:14 AM   #5
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Okay, I'm kinda getting the hang of that. I changed to casual aiming and it seemed to do it for me. I'm not sure if it did it before tbh.

I've had a quick look in the multiplayer and didn't really understand what was going on. It seemed more like Co-Op, I think we were shooting NPC's...
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-10, 07:40 PM   #6
HUNTER
Major
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,185
Send a message via ICQ to HUNTER Send a message via AIM to HUNTER Send a message via MSN to HUNTER
Default

Picked it up for 360 last weekend. Have been enjoying it and have skinned a fair number of horses too

Haven't taken it online yet once it gets going the gameplay speeds up.
__________________
Hunter's Home
FFLUK Rhinos: 06 and 09 Champions | Overall: 183-134-7
10/11 8-5-1 | 11/12 7-7-0 | 12/13 7-7-0 | 13/14 4-8-1 | 14/15 7-6-0
15/16 4-9-0 | 16/17 9-4-0 | 17/18 6-2-0
HUNTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-05-10, 08:15 PM   #7
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

I am enjoying it, it's safe from eBay for a little while. I just won a few decent hands of poker by cheating

At the minute, I'm generally going the route of a good guy. I wonder how different it is if I become a bit of an outlaw? Is that an option?
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-10, 10:20 AM   #8
HUNTER
Major
 

Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Bristol
Posts: 4,185
Send a message via ICQ to HUNTER Send a message via AIM to HUNTER Send a message via MSN to HUNTER
Default

Just kill lots of people etc.

How did you cheat?
__________________
Hunter's Home
FFLUK Rhinos: 06 and 09 Champions | Overall: 183-134-7
10/11 8-5-1 | 11/12 7-7-0 | 12/13 7-7-0 | 13/14 4-8-1 | 14/15 7-6-0
15/16 4-9-0 | 16/17 9-4-0 | 17/18 6-2-0
HUNTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-10, 02:09 PM   #9
Vikingmenacethe2nd
Corporal
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 183
Default

you unlock the elegant suit costume. It allows you to attempt a cheat. I tried it once, and got gunned sown in the following standoff
__________________
Good Ol' Vike.


Vikingmenacethe2nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-05-10, 05:12 PM   #10
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Ha ha. I found it quite easy. When you deal you press Y to cheat, you take an extra card and I guess it goes up your sleeve. Then, whenever you want, you can switch in this card and put the removed one up your sleeve. For a few rounds I was swapping cards in and out and won 300 chips in one hand
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 06:37 PM   #11
kiwi
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Welwyn
Posts: 298
Send a message via MSN to kiwi
Default

You can get caught tho
__________________


kiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 08:40 PM   #12
Vikingmenacethe2nd
Corporal
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 183
Default

Ive made it to Mexico now, gonna be fun to kick some hombres butt.. or shoot them full of buckshots
__________________
Good Ol' Vike.


Vikingmenacethe2nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-10, 09:37 PM   #13
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Cool. How long has that taken you? I'm at about 10 hours of gameplay at 30% completed...
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-10, 06:37 AM   #14
Vikingmenacethe2nd
Corporal
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 183
Default

As % completed goes I think you are close. But when it comes to hous played, dunno. Ive been running around doing wantedposters and just about every strangermission Ive come across
__________________
Good Ol' Vike.


Vikingmenacethe2nd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-10, 05:46 PM   #15
kiwi
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Welwyn
Posts: 298
Send a message via MSN to kiwi
Default

Im at around 65% atm and am in the city bit altho cant remember name of it which isnt useful for you!!

Its top right on the map.. ha. Ive kinda given up on it for the moment as Serious Sam popped onto arcade for 800 points so have been giving that a play.
__________________


kiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dead, red, redemption

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.