Lanarchy LAN Events in North London Forum

Go Back   Lanarchy LAN Events in North London Forum > Gaming > Mobile Phones, Tablets & Gadgets

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19-10-10, 09:28 PM   #121
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Has anyone else recently received their FroYo update to find their Market has vanished?
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-03-11, 04:16 PM   #122
Lestat
Administrator
 
Lestat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Garston
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via MSN to Lestat Send a message via Skype™ to Lestat
Default

Well my desire is going back to HTC, frankly as a business user it has nothing been but frustrating. And a few searches on google I am not the only one.

Dropping calls is a huge Issue and out of say 30 calls a day 10 will drop for what I can see no reason. But now it has decided if I drop a call I can not make another till I reboot the phone. And it is pretty stripped down.

Makes me wish for my bosses Iphone 4 he hasn't had a single Issue and his battery lasts for ages.

Need a new phone
__________________

Lestat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-11, 10:02 PM   #123
king_clueless
Corporal
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Bad times Lestat

I love my HTC Desire a year later but I can imagine it would work so well as a business tool. Mine wouldn't receive calls for a couple of hours when on charge once. Typically my fiancee was coming in to London that day and needed to get hold of me

however for me, apart from random text not being sent it's been the best phone I've ever had. loved me Sony Ericssons but despite recent releases I still don't want or need another phone
__________________
brain damage won't stop me!

Xfire - Steam - Twitter - Neglected blog

king_clueless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-11, 10:21 PM   #124
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

I think it's a great credit to the Desire that a year on, it's still one of the best phones around... for a month or so until the dual core's come out anyway.
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-11, 01:48 PM   #125
Lestat
Administrator
 
Lestat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Garston
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via MSN to Lestat Send a message via Skype™ to Lestat
Default

They have given me a HTC Snap as a temp phone and it is a huge pile of crap
__________________

Lestat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-11, 06:26 PM   #126
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

It has Windows Mobile 6.1? I'm not surprised it's naff
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-11, 07:44 PM   #127
Lestat
Administrator
 
Lestat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Garston
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via MSN to Lestat Send a message via Skype™ to Lestat
Default

I have now lived with it for 3 days and it has no headphone jack, although it says it does. Getting to anything is shite. Seriously I feel like a nokia 6310 has more functionality.
__________________

Lestat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-03-11, 11:08 PM   #128
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Is it a temporary phone? I have a HTC G2 (Desire Z) you could borrow for that matter...
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-11, 07:59 AM   #129
Khan
Administrator
 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 635
Send a message via MSN to Khan
Default

Hey guys,

I have my HTC desire which seems to be restarting (and then goes into a loop) when I'm off Wifi and visiting web pages via 3G or downloading podcasts (google listen). I've contacted HTC and I may be able to send my phone back but obviously I'd be without a phone so I wondered if there is anything else I should try first?

I've heard you guys mention rooting, I guess I could try that in case it's a software issue? (I've done a reset but it looks like that just clears phone data). I have the 0.93 of the HBoot thingy and I've seen guides for 0.8X and 0.7X.

What do you suggest?

Cheers guys,

Adrian
__________________
Site: http://www.uklans.co.uk | Twitter: https://twitter.com/UKLans_Khannage
"Great event, good to know MW2 works! and yes Khan won" - Hunter - Feb 2010
Khan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-11, 09:22 AM   #130
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

So you've done a factory reset and it still resets and boot loops?

Have you had an update recently?

I wouldn't imaging rooting in itself will help, but flashing a new ROM onto the phone would hopefully fix it. That gets a bit hardcore though, depends how much you're up for hacking around with it.
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-11, 09:27 AM   #131
Khan
Administrator
 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 635
Send a message via MSN to Khan
Default

Yea I've done a factory reset, all that seems to do is clear the phones memory and the SD card. I though it worked but I'm back to the issue now.

I think it's up to date with updates, I've been on the phone and checked for updates but nothing is found.

So what does the ROM do? is that like flashing the BIOS to the latest patch in PC terms (I guess so).

Cheers,

Adrian
__________________
Site: http://www.uklans.co.uk | Twitter: https://twitter.com/UKLans_Khannage
"Great event, good to know MW2 works! and yes Khan won" - Hunter - Feb 2010
Khan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-05-11, 06:49 PM   #132
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,058
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Well, the BIOS is probably more like the bootloader on a phone. The ROM is the Operating System. If the bootloader is locked, you can't get to the ROM.
AndyCr15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
desire, htc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.