Lanarchy LAN Events in North London Forum

Go Back   Lanarchy LAN Events in North London Forum > Gaming > PC Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 24-12-11, 02:22 AM   #1
Eostre
Member
 
Eostre's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks
Posts: 274
Default BT Infinity

I've lived in Milton Keynes since 2001 and the broadband here has been shocking.

To cut a long story short, there is no Virgin Media in MK and the best speed I could ever get was 1.7Mb/s down and 0.4Mb/s up. I didn't even get ADSL until late 2006. Before that I was on dial up!!

BT decided that MK would be one of the first locations to roll out fibre optic cable all the way to the home (aka FTTP or Fibre To The Premises/Property). I had mine installed a couple of days ago.

The result is this:



I've gone from 1.7Mb/s to a whopping 100+ Mb/s. The speeds are simply amazing.

Because of this, my next purchase will be a Samsung D8000 Smart TV....
__________________
Eostre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-11, 07:06 AM   #2
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,061
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Ha ha, awesome increase Tbh, even with 50 meg, may sites can't give you the speed you are capable of going up to.

I did download CS:GO (1.6 gig) in something mental like 6 minutes though.

Samsung TV's rock. I found a neat trick last night. I'm withing HIGNFY through my file server running Serviio on my DLNA Samsung. I stop and move up stairs, select the same show through my Samsung up there and realise I can press the blue button to carry on from where I left off!
AndyCr15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-11, 11:42 AM   #3
LFFPicard
Lieutenant
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Posts: 1,631
Send a message via MSN to LFFPicard
Default

Nice one!

I thought they were only doing Fibre to the neighbourhood. IE the green box.
Nice to see they actually will do it to the property!

My FTTC (Fibre to the cabinet) is done in March according to Sam Knows.
__________________


LFFPicard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-13, 11:19 PM   #4
Eostre
Member
 
Eostre's Avatar
 

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Milton Keynes, Bucks
Posts: 274
Default

Well, it's been just over a year since I had Infinity installed and recently they offered to upgrade my speeds if I renewed my contract for another 12 months (i.e. no extra cost). So my new speeds are:





Admittedly, the speed is supposed to be 160Mb/s down and 20Mb/s up and it has only been a few days since the upgrade, so I expect this to fall at some point.

I've also hooked up just about everything I can to the BT Home Hub:

Smart phones x2
Asus Nexus 7 x2
Sony Bravia HX853
Sony Blu ray player
Samsung Smart TV
BT Vision box
PC x2

Knowing that no matter how many HD movies the wife downloads on BT Vision, it won't affect my pc games is worth every penny
__________________
Eostre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-13, 06:34 AM   #5
AndyCr15
Administrator
 
AndyCr15's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finchley, London
Posts: 23,061
Send a message via MSN to AndyCr15 Send a message via Skype™ to AndyCr15
Default

Wow. Very nice. It's actually the faster upload that I'd like. I only have 5 up at the moment and I do upload a fair bit of 1080p video. A 1 gig video takes an hour...
AndyCr15 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-13, 03:08 PM   #6
LFFPicard
Lieutenant
 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Burgess Hill, West Sussex
Posts: 1,631
Send a message via MSN to LFFPicard
Default

Nice!

Currently I am on 70/15 with infinity, but no plans to do FTTP yet.
I stream HD when I play LoL and the upload is fine, would love FTTP though!
__________________


LFFPicard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-13, 03:06 PM   #7
Lestat
Administrator
 
Lestat's Avatar
 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Garston
Posts: 5,877
Send a message via MSN to Lestat Send a message via Skype™ to Lestat
Default



I don't care about upload thankfully.
__________________

Lestat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-13, 11:33 PM   #8
Deviant
Sergeant
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: UK - Northampton
Posts: 859
Send a message via MSN to Deviant Send a message via Yahoo to Deviant
Default



I did this just now, so definately not peak time. Normally its a lot worse... I will have to try this tomorrow or maybe monday evening. Then you will see some serious back to dialup speeds.

Before I moved a few months ago I enjoyed a 50mb speed
__________________
Deviant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-13, 08:35 AM   #9
Magman
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London
Posts: 378
Send a message via MSN to Magman
Default

@Eostre For your BT Infinity, BT as installed fibre cables right to the BT router installed in your house? Or is there any part of the way where some kind of pre-installed copper cable are used?

Here is the speed test at my work, time to upgrade! Upload is the only thing good now!

Magman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
infinity

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.